Breaking Ground

Hi Everybody!

It has been an exciting week here at NerdGirlHomes.

High Points:

– At the start of the week (July 27) I attended an inspirational NAWIC (National Association of Women in Construction) event. It pleased me to meet these amazing women. I also spoke during the BBQ. I felt that my audience was very supportive and encouraging. Thanks again for listening!

-July 28: I raised enough money to purchase a trailer from FMJ Trucks and Trailers located in San Jose! Getting the first big piece of this project was electrifying! Looking at the shiny black trailer parked in the driveway reassured me that what I’m doing is possible. This project takes a lot of time and work but it is worth it!

-July 29: NerdGirlHomes raised enough money to purchase all the materials for Phase One (modifying the trailer and floor framing). This achievement has helped me realize my goal’s attainability.  With every step I take I feel more proud of myself.

-Ordering the Phase One materials on July 29 was definitely one of the highlights of this journey so far. It is so exciting to see the project progress so quickly!

-July 30: I woke up early (average teenager on summer vacation) to talk with the delivery person from Monument Lumber who was dropping off the materials for Phase One. It was absolutely worth getting up at that time!

-July 30 and July 31: I am continually shocked, proud, and surprised at the progress I have made just in these two days! Let me tell you all, it’s not an easy labor. (I’m working on getting to the point where I can utilize volunteers effectively.) Doing this project has already helped me to realize and appreciate the business and construction community. As teenagers I feel that we don’t always see what happens behind the scenes of a business or construction company. I continue to feel that understanding the mechanics and structure of a house is an important life lesson – especially for women. I highly encourage people to participate!

-The past week I have felt a little funny. I figured it out. My cheeks hurt from smiling so much! The past week has been incredibly encouraging! One of the most motivating aspects has been seeing the energy people have while talking about and viewing the project (especially my neighbors!). I appreciate the enthusiasm so much!

Low Points:

-None

Lessons Learned:

-The process of ordering and receiving materials

-That an expensive hammer is stronger and more comfortable to use than a “$6” hammer

-Redwood is much more expensive than Cedar because it takes longer to grow

-How to remove extraneous metal parts from the trailer

-How to modify the trailer so it is ready for floor framing

-An angling technique while using the Pneumatic Framing Gun

-Make sure there are no holes between the aluminum flashing and boards (mice and moisture)

-Make sure to wear a long sleeve shirt while dealing with sparks

-How to use a Sawzall, Impact Driver, Pneumatic Framing Gun, Jigsaw, Electric Staple gun and a Die Grinder

– That support comes in all forms – financial, words of encouragement, materials, introductions, sharing ideas, giving feedback and belief.

I will keep you all posted. I am starting fundraising for Phase Two. No donation is too little. Thanks again everyone for your support and encouragement! I really appreciate it!

~NerdGirl – Kendall

 

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. NerdGirl!! Such and exciting blog entry. You are amazing and determined. It’s great that you’re getting support from such a wide range of people and organizations. Keep up the hard work. Can’t wait to see your project progress over the next few weeks! Does Templeton come with the house? I saw him on the photos page of yor website. : )

  2. Wow, wow, wow! Incredible progress. So happy to hear that you have so much support. Isn’t your community great! You go girl! Love the updates. Keep them coming 🙂

Leave a Reply

