Wildfire

Hi Everybody!
Things have been very busy and super exciting here at NerdGirlHomes!
About ten days ago I was interviewed by Gretchen Wegrich from the Santa Cruz Sentinel. Gretchen, the article was incredible! Thank you so much! If anyone wants to read it you can find it at:  http://www.santacruzsentinel.com/homeandgarden/ci_18722542

Literally, the day following the interview I came home to find 48 new emails in my inbox and an increase in my website traffic by about 7,000 hits. My site has climbed from 2,700 to over 13,350 hits in just a few days.  Word is definitely getting out about my project and I remain ecstatic and awestruck. I am so thankful for all of the support and encouragement from people all over the world. I’ve actually received donations from people who live in Australia and throughout Europe!
Amongst the emails I have heard some incredible stories. At times, everyone gets frustrated with certain aspects of their lives and reading these stories helps me keep everything that I think is “difficult” in perspective. Thanks so much to those of you who have shared your experiences with me. They are inspiring, humbling, funny, and always leave me thinking. I’m still processing donations and responding to all the emails. I’ve had to learn to adjust my time now that I’m back in school. But, I will answer every email so please keep them coming!

I’ve been contacted by both the “Oregonian” online newspaper and the “Tumbleweed Tiny House Company” asking my permission to include NerdGirlHomes in their newsletters. I am honored and excited to be asked.
I’m continuing my work with an attorney who has generously donated his services to help me complete the 501c3 application (it is very tedious and time consuming). In the meantime, I’ve written and submitted a Fiscal Agent proposal and am currently waiting to hear back from the organization that can hopefully, become my sponsor.
In terms of fundraising, I’m 36.1% of the way toward my goal and raised a lot of funds last week! I’m making a big push so I can purchase my materials to Complete Phase 3 and get the house weather tight before the rains start.  My goal is to have everything I need for Phase 3 by Labor Day Weekend.  Here are some of the items I need immediately:

  1. 2×6 @18′ Douglas fir
  2. 10 2×6 @ 12′ Douglas fir
  3. 6 sheets of 4’x9′ 1/2″ cdx plywood
  4. 10 1×6 @ 16′ T&G Knotty Pine
  5. A graphic designer willing to show me how to take my logo idea and turn it into business cards, letterhead, t-shirts etc. I can do some of it, but need help taking it to the next level (people are requesting shirts!)
  6. A printer willing to donate the printing costs of above items

The shower arrived a couple days ago thanks to the generosity of a donor in Philadelphia, PA! So exciting – thanks! I had a funny moment yesterday as my Mom walked in while I was finishing up a phone call. A local attorney called me to consult about toilets! He is working on a project of his own and wanted to pick my brain about my research. I’m pretty sure my Mom never thought she’d have a daughter who was taking calls about toilets.

I must say, things are spreading like wildfire!  People are stopping by nearly everyday or driving down the street to get a peek at the house and my progress. I’m so thankful for the encouragement, enthusiasm, and willingness to contribute. I’ve received some very touching emails and they’ve brought happy tears and filled my heart with determination and light. I’m positive I am exactly where I’m supposed to be. It’s going to feel so good to complete this house, do something good with it and then teach others how to do it. Thank you for reading my blog and stay tuned for future updates!

TTFN,
~Kendall Ronzano
(The Nerd Girl)

Posted on August 30, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Congrats on your continuing success with this! I can design your business card if you wish. I am very good with that type of artwork etc.

    Cheers, Derek

    PS the link to the newspaper article did not work from here.

    • Hi Derek,

      Thank you so much for your support! That would be fantastic if you designed them for me! I will scan and send you one of my logo ideas.
      Again, thank you!

      ~Kendall Ronzano
      (The Nerd Girl)

      P.S.Hopefully the link will work now.

  2. I think you are doing a great thing Kendall and I am honoured to be helping you with it.

    Regards, Derek

    • Thank again Derek. Will be in touch. Believe it or not, I’ve had several offers to assist in the past ten minutes…Including one from my neighbor. (The power of the blog!)
      ~Kendall

  3. Hi Kendall. A lot of people use Cafe Press or Zazzle to sell tshirts. It is no cost up front, and you can create a widget to put on your site that will connect to your “storefront” on their site. You just upload your art/design and choose features, and they take care of the printing, etc. Very easy.

  4. I would be very happy to look at your graphic design needs…and format for all your print and media needs

    good luck and hope to hear from you

  5. http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001442118916#!/profile.php?id=100001952232345

    Nerd Girl. I’m Jim Perkins. This url belongs to a graphic designer and other. He’s an excellent artist… His ideas work… You may want to write him. He’s very humble and unassuming & like most of us Nerds & artsy type people, a little off the bubble. John will talk to you. Give him my name as reference. He & I & half the county use to play music together. Try it, John will surprise you.

    Jim Perkins

Leave a Reply

