Happy Fall!

Hi Everybody! I hope this update finds you having a restful weekend. I was going to say, “Happy Thanksgiving” but realize I’ve got supporters from several different continents and not everybody celebrates the kind of Thanksgiving holiday that I do. What I do know, is that I’ve got so much to be thankful for and wanted to share some of that with you.

To date, there have been nearly 72,000 hits on my website. I’m humbled, excited and inspired by the continued words of encouragement from visitors. Check out the thermometer on the NerdGirlHomes website! I’m closer to my fundraising goal every day and am so grateful for the 157 contributors who’ve supported my house project so far. I read over your names on a regular basis and send thoughts of gratitude your way. Your generousity and kindness has enabled this project and I thank you!

I recently had the pleasure of meeting an 8th grade girl for lunch. She found my website and is interested in building a tiny house for NerdGirlHomes. I’m excited to work with her and mentor her through this rewarding process. She was really cute and very enthusiastic and I’m certain she’ll be quite capable. My hope is that our friends at the Tumbleweed Tiny House Company can help us out with plans for this next tiny home.

After watching video clips and hearing first hand reports of the devastation from SuperStorm Sandy, I am so thankful for my home, electricity, clean water and the mild weather on the California coast. If I didn’t have homework this weekend, I’d be out playing beach volleyball on this beautiful November day!

Although the weather might seem mild to me, I’m reminded daily that there are people without homes living in my town and sleeping outside. For some, this seems to be a choice, and for others a result of circumstances beyond their control. As I climb into the van and head off to school, I often see the same person sleeping under newspapers on the porch of the chiropractor’s office. There is a dog by his side. I love my dogs, as you can see in many of my photos. They are loyal companions and I’m grateful that when I slept with my labrador last night, we were curled up in my cozy bed.

Last week, I was deeply honored to receive an award at the National Philanthropy Day luncheon at Spanish Bay. I was nominated by my school and accepted the award for 2012 Most Outstanding Philanthropic Youth of the Year in front of 450 people. I was pretty nervous speaking in front of a room full of philanthropists, but their warmth and positive energy put me at ease.

One of the most inspiring award recipients was 97 years old and had made it his life’s work to help others. I’ve included a couple of photos from the event and a link to an article by the Monterey Herald about NerdGirlHomes and the award. (http://www.montereyherald.com/ci_22051827/at-17-york-student-kendall-ronzano-is-building?source=email)

As a result, I’ve added several new donors and am making significant progress toward ordering appliances. I still have a ways to go so please check out the link to my wish list on the “Current Project” page of the website and believe me when I say that every little bit helps. I hope to have all materials ordered before my holiday break from school Dec 13 so I can complete the house before Jan 2nd. Then begins the process of finding a “home” for my little home!

Thanks again for all the support in forms of donations, words of encouragement, volunteer time, in-kind and material donations and insightful questions! I feel so lucky and excited to finish my house.

Posted on November 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Awesome job, Kendall! Keep up the inspiring work and congratulations on the Philanthropic Youth of the Year Award. I can’t wait to see more posts as you get closer to finishing your house.

  2. Hi K!
    How much money do u still need to raise?

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

