Update – Community First!

Hi Everyone!

It’s time for the BIG news! The tiny house is headed to…..well, keep reading and you’ll find out.

One of the hardest things for me as the house took shape was realizing that I’d need to say goodbye. The tiny house has been a part of my life for what seems like forever. It has brought me to places I’d never imagined and provided solace and positive focus during some difficult life losses. I’ve been blessed with encouragement, love and support from around the globe and learned a lot about myself and others along the way.

As I said when I started, my plan/mission was to give the tiny home to a family in need or raffle it off and donate the proceeds. After much contemplation, I determined the best route for the tiny house was to donate it. As the project neared this stage, finding a final home, I did extensive research to make sure the tiny house does in fact find the perfect place. It’s not a stretch to say that the tiny house is family to me. I devoted 800+ hours toward the NerdGirlHomes project in high school alone and didn’t accept any community service credit. It was a labor of love and curiosity. I’ve spent the past 18 months in conversation with the house recipients and feel like it’s a prefect match and what I envisioned when I started NerdGirlHomes.

The destination for the tiny house was decided upon these criteria:

  • A place where it could be used in perpetuity
  • A program with funding, oversight and the infrastructure to successfully support the people living in it
  • I like the mission, inclusiveness, longevity, and county administrative support of the organization selected

So, without further ado…

  • The tiny house will be the newest member of a twenty-seven acre transitional homeless community for 250 people in Austin, Texas called Community First!  Community First! is a truly uplifting and life-changing place. See video below and visit their website here. (http://mlf.org/pave-the-way-home/)

People have asked if the tiny house has a name (at Community First! there is a dedication marker with each house)…I’ve been rather torn about naming it until recently. My Grandma Dorothy told me to always remember that no matter what I did or where I went, there really is “no place like home.” Just like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz, I need only to click my ruby slippers. So, in honor of my biggest supporter and fan, and for the future well-being of the tiny house in its new home, I’ll dedicate it in the name of “Ruby”…like those ruby slippers that brought Dorothy home. Nearly two years to the day I lost my Grandma, the tiny house is headed home. Ruby seems a fitting name for the journey, both mine and for the people who will live in her as they work to improve their lives.

On February 9th, Ruby will leave Santa Cruz and make the journey to Austin, Texas to join other Community First! tiny homes. I plan to visit in late February and will keep you updated along the way! Thank you again from the bottom of my heart for the encouragement and support…we did it!!

Here are some more videos about Community First!:



Community First Village Interview Video.

Posted on January 20, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! I’m sure everyone who heard you speak about your project knew that you would bring it to fruition. All the best to you and continued success in your community service endeavors (and in everything you do).

  2. Awesome Kendall!!! Love the name of the house! Your grandma Dorothy is very proud of you!!

  3. Awesome! I think we’re all excited, amazed and proud of what you’ve done for yourself and the Tiny House Community.

  4. Job well done. I am speechless on your generosity …..

  5. That is a beautiful place for your home, Kendall! Having lived in Austin for 39 years, I recognize some of the homeless in the loaves and fishes video, and have talked to a few of them. I see the suffering and the difficult challenges they face in a city where it is illegal to sleep in a public place and trespassing to sleep on private land. Also had a homeless person live with me for 3 months a year ago. So much compassion in Loaves and Fishes and Community First. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

